I have been writing periodically on this blog for a little while now, but I recently realized that I have never talked about why I write. I have also never explained how this blog came to be. So before I fall farther down the blogging rabbit hole, I have decided to write about why I write.

I initially created this blog in November, 2016. Originally, this was going to be a social/political blog, which sounds totally crazy coming from me. I had done everything in my power to stay away from politics, but after the election, I had too many thoughts to keep bottled up. I was going to ask readers for questions about topics and issues that I could research and write about. If no questions came, I had plenty on my own mind to research, so no worries. That’s where the blog name came from. I (Emily) was going to research and answer questions for the people.  Emily for the People.

I ended up not writing anything for months. I was too afraid to post my thoughts. I wasn’t ready to handle any negativity and I didn’t want to offend people. I just kept having loooooong discussions with my husband instead. We talked (and still do) about what is happening in our country almost daily. The whole time this blog laid dormant. Finally, one day I was on Facebook and I saw a few similar posts that really got to me. It wasn’t anything major, but it was enough to get me to write my first post. I published it, which threw me into a panic attack. I was freaking out so badly that I sent the post to my mom and my sister, because I needed to know they would back me up if things went down on social media. Of course, nothing happened. A handful of people read it, and I like to think it went over well with most people. After that ordeal, I realized maybe political posts aren’t my thing. I wasn’t too keen on the idea of panicking every time I wrote anything. I definitely wasn’t over writing, though.

I have always enjoyed writing. One summer, when I was in high school, I started writing a book. I got maybe five pages in, and it was almost certainly awful. I really loved it, though. When I was in college I started a blog that was basically “life lessons for my future daughter”. I liked writing that, too. I have actually gone back and read my old posts a few times. I was very inconsistent in writing, but the last post was a little after my husband and I got married, so not a terribly long time ago. I tend to write more when I have a lot on my mind.

Which finally brings me to why I write today. After realizing that politics was not my forte, I almost stopped writing. What was the point of a political blog if I wasn’t going to blog about politics? No point. But what about blogging on a different topic? I can do that. I constantly have too much on my mind at any given time. My brain doesn’t know how to stop. And usually, my dear husband gets to hear all my deepest (and not so deep) thoughts. The poor man has it rough. So, I decided to write those thoughts and my experiences. I’ve had a lot of life in my short number of years, so why not talk about it?

Basically, I write to help empty my mind a little. If I can’t turn my brain off, I guess I’ll just have to get some of the thoughts out. I also write in hopes that my experiences can resonate with someone else. I want people to know that they are not alone, and if that means writing about my deepest, darkest places, then so be it. I also like thinking about things differently. I try not to see the world in simple, black-and-white terms, and if I can share my perspective with others, then that’s pretty awesome. I know I am not a great writer, and maybe my writing only helps me. But if even one person can find some tiny piece of hope or courage or connection in my writing, then it’s worth it. I have had some really happy times and I have had some really hard times. I know I’m not the only person. Why not share?

I do want to add, though, that I’m not writing to draw attention to myself or to complain about life. I’m not seeking affirmation or personal advice. However, I have had people reach out to me with great resources and information about the general topic of the blog posts, and that is something I do really love and appreciate.

And thank you for reading! It means a lot to me.

